Home - Health - Grade 10 - LibGuides at American Embassy School

Free Government Database

This database from the US Department of Health and Human Services has all sorts of reliable information on health topics.

Nutrition.gov
"Nutrition.gov serves as a gateway to reliable resources on food, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety."
Eat Right
This site is from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Food and Drug Administration
Use the search engine within this site for a wide range of information.
Teens Health from Nemours
This site has trustworthy information on lots of different topics.
Medline Plus - Teen Health
This excellent site is sponsored by the National Institute of Health. Use the in-site search engine.
Tween and Teen Health - Mayo Clinic
This site is from a very reputable clinic in the United States. Follow the links near the bottom of the page, or use the search engine within the page to find excellent information on almost any medical or health issue.
New York Times
Use the search engine within this site to find NYT articles about your debate topic. You can create an account with your AES password.

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This should be your first stop for this assignment.
Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia is always a great resource for background information.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is our largest general database. It is especially helpful to look at the subject tags here.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find news articles about your topic. Filter by date to find the most current.

Addiction Center
This site shares info about drug addiction. Includes detailed information about the dangers of drugs and alcohol.
Teens: Alcohol and Other Drugs
This is from the American Academy of Child and Pediatric Psychology.
Teens: Drug Use and the Brain
From the National Institute on Drug Abuse for Teens
Just Think Twice
This site is from the Drug Enforcement Administration.

Notecards (US letter)
This version is in Googledocs. Please make a copy of it to use it.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian

lhoiseth@aes.ac.in

+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/aesmshslibrary/