Skip to Main Content

Social Studies 7: Natural Disasters

Books in MSHS Library

Databases

AES Databases (Login information)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

Earthquakes/Tsunamis

Japan Earthquake and Tsunami of 2011
What is an earthquake?
Source: Britannica
Northridge Earthquake of 1994
Source: Britannica
What is a tsunami?
Source: Britannica
Indian Ocean Tsunami of 2004
Source: Britannica
Why the Earthquake in Indonesia caused so much destruction
Source: Newsela

Articles

Floods / Landslides

Flood
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
Flooding
Source: Newsela
Landslide
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
Landslide
Source: Newsela

Tropical Cyclones / Hurricanes / Tornadoes / Typhoons

Tropical Cyclones/Hurricane/Typhoon
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
Tropical Cyclones/Hurricanes/Typhoons
Source: World Meteorological Organization
Tornado
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
What is a tornado?
Source: Newsela

Drought

Drought
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
What is a Drought?
Source: Newsela

Wildfire

Wildfire
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
Wildfires: How they form, and why they're so dangerous
Source: Newsela

Earthquake / Tsunami

Earthquake
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
The science of earthquakes
Source: Newsela
Tsunami
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica
The story of Tsunamis
Source: Newsela

Floods / Landslides

Tropical Cyclones / Hurricanes / Tornadoes / Typhoons

Drought

Wildfire

Earthquake / Tsunami

#1 Earthquake - Morocco
#2 Earthquake/Tsunami in Japan

SDG 13: Climate Action

SDG 14: Life Below Water

SDG 15: Life on Land

NoodleTools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is a responsive, user-friendly research management platform with baked-in wisdom accumulated over years, and a proven track record across thousands of schools and universities.

Librarian

Chris Fazenbaker

MSHS Librarian

Email Me

Libguide Creator

Email Me