Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended databases for your food research
AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.
When accessing databases from home, use the link above to find out the passwords.
Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Use this basic reference source to get background information about your topic.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database will provide you with both popular and scholarly articles about your topic.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find out how your topic was reported in newspapers around the world. You can also use this to look for food blogs.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Does your topic have a food element? Try this database!
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Does your topic have an historical element? Try this database!
The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Use the database password link at the top to find the URL to create your own account.
Food for Thought
These sources aren't necessarily reliable, so use the "facts" with caution. But, they might get you thinking!
Destiny Library Catalog
Our library has a number of cookbooks and books about various food topics. If you'd like to borrow some, fill out the Gate 2 checkout form. If you're not sure which books you want but you'd like a handful to look through, just indicate that on the form and we'll send some to you. Here are just a couple of examples:
Cook Korean! by
Call Number: Graphic F HA
Publication Date: 2016
The Art and Craft of Tea by
Call Number: 641.337 UHL
Publication Date: 2015
"One of the most consumed beverages in the world, a cup of tea is a common shared experience across cultures and traditions. Companies and consumers alike are reawakening to the benefits of high-quality, unprocessed, natural beverages, and tea is a perfect obsession for anyone interested in artisan food and healthy eating"
Salt, sugar, fat : how the food giants hooked us by
Call Number: 613.2 MOS
Publication Date: 2014
"Reveals how the world's largest processed food companies redirect concerns about the health risks of their products by dialing back on one harmful ingredient while increasing another; use technology to calculate the bliss point of sugary beverages or enhance the mouth feel of fat by manipulating the chemical structure; and refer to their most ardent customers as addicted to salt, sugar, and fat."
Sugar Changed the World by
Call Number: 641.3 ARO
Publication Date: 2010
Songs, oral histories, maps, and more than eighty archival illustrations help trace the history of sugar and the sugar trade.
The Omnivore's Dilemma by
Call Number: 641.3 POL
Publication Date: 2006
Offers insight into food consumption in the twenty-first century, explaining how an abundance of unlimited food varieties reveals the responsibilities of consumers to protect their health and the environment.
material type: Book
Eating Animals by
Call Number: 641.3 FOE
Publication Date: 2009-11-02
Examines various philosophical topics related to vegetarianism and eating habits in general, chronicling the author's struggle, as he approaches fatherhood, with how to make dietary choices on a child's behalf, and analyzes various aspects of folklore, culture, tradition, and myth that help people justify eating habits.
Dangerous Tastes by
Call Number: 641.3 DAL
Publication Date: 2000-11-21
Studies the role spices have played in different cultures throughout history.
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian
+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358