Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases for Art
AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
World's largest' scholarly, multidiscipline full text database designed specifically for academic institutions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a comprehensive database with articles, books, research reports, and reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Directly exports citation to NoodleTools.
Books in our library
These are just a few of the many books about art and artists available in our library.
The Art Book by
Call Number: 709 ART
Publication Date: 2012
Five hundred of the world's greatest painters, photographers, and sculptors, from medieval to modern times, are listed alphabetically along with a reproduction of a representative work with explanatory text and cross-references to other artists. Includes a directory of museums and galleries.
The 20th Century Art Book by
Call Number: 709.04 TWE
Publication Date: 1996
Uses text and pictures to explore and examine different artists and styles of art created in the twentieth century.
If there is a book you require that our library doesn't have, please see Ms. Hoiseth.
How do I cite in my comparative study?
Museum Art Books - for Free!
Historical Analysis of a Work of Art Example
Components of the Comparative Study
Task 1: Comparative Study
||Analysis of formal qualities
||Interpretation of function and purpose
||Evaluation of cultural significance
||Making comparisons and connections
||Presentation and specific language
||(HL only) Making connections to own art-making practice
Here's one way to approach the comparative study:
Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian
+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.