LibGuides: IB Psychology: Home

Info from the IB

*Recommended studies for the IA
This is a folder of several studies that are accessible to AES students.
Triplett 1898
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a free database where researchers can share their data. You can try to contact researchers through the database.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Psychology
Hindawi - Psychology search
"Hindawi is one of the world’s largest publishers of peer-reviewed, fully Open Access journals."
PsychOpen
"PsychOpen publishes a wide range of psychology journals covering a variety of psychological topics."
Full-Text Psychology Journals - Free Index
Behavior and Social Issues
"A peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary scientific journal"
Advances in Cognitive Psychology
Depression Research and Treatment
"A peer-reviewed, Open Access journal"
Europe's Journal of Psychology

The AES library has a number of books on psychology- mostly in the 100's section.

The 5 Second Rule by Mel Robbins
Call Number: 179.6 ROB
ISBN: 9781682612385
Publication Date: 2017
Offers a blueprint for taking action in your life, from making more money to pursuing your dreams.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Susan B. Gall (Editor)
Call Number: 150.3 GAL
ISBN: 0787603724
Publication Date: 1996
Peak by Anders Ericsson; Robert Pool
Call Number: 153.9 ERI
ISBN: 9780544456235
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Reflects on the ways in which people acquire new abilities, offering a convincing view of the concept of potential.

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

These are the databases that will be most helpful for the IA:

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Here you can find full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. This link only works from campus.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is our largest general database. Be sure to choose "Full Text" and "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals".
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is the most scholarly of all of the databases we have access to.

PsyArXiv Preprints
Maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science to facilitate the rapid dissemination of psychological research. It includes working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review

No matter what note-taking technique you use, these are important guidelines to follow:

Develop, modify, then stick to a strategy that works for you.
Read for understanding.
Paraphrase! (That's how you know you understand.)
Be able to trace every single idea in your notes to its source.
Write just enough - not so much that it's like reading the original all over again, not so little that you don't know what it means later.
Abbreviations, symbols, and diagrams are great, as long as you'll remember what they mean.