Home - English 11/12 - Themes and Topics - LibGuides at American Embassy School

Recommended databases for your food research

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

When accessing databases from home, use the link above to find out the passwords.

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Use this basic reference source to get background information about your topic.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database will provide you with both popular and scholarly articles about your topic.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find out how your topic was reported in newspapers around the world. You can also use this to look for food blogs.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Does your topic have a food element? Try this database!
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Does your topic have an historical element? Try this database!
The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Use the database password link at the top to find the URL to create your own account.

Food for Thought

These sources aren't necessarily reliable, so use the "facts" with caution. But, they might get you thinking!

What Kids Eat Around the World
"In the face of rising global obesity, photographer Gregg Segal traveled around the world to ask kids what they eat in one week and then photographed them alongside the food."
The 15 Most Expensive Foods You Can Buy
20 Weird Food Facts You Probably Didn’t Know
Top 100 Most Popular Foods in the World
20 Must-Eat Foods From Around the World

Destiny Library Catalog

Request form for Gate 2

Click here to visit Destiny Homepage

Our library has a number of cookbooks and books about various food topics. If you'd like to borrow some, fill out the Gate 2 checkout form. If you're not sure which books you want but you'd like a handful to look through, just indicate that on the form and we'll send some to you. Here are just a couple of examples:

Cook Korean! by Robin Ha
Call Number: Graphic F HA
ISBN: 9781607748878
Publication Date: 2016
The Art and Craft of Tea by Joseph Wesley Uhl
Call Number: 641.337 UHL
ISBN: 9781631590498
Publication Date: 2015
"One of the most consumed beverages in the world, a cup of tea is a common shared experience across cultures and traditions. Companies and consumers alike are reawakening to the benefits of high-quality, unprocessed, natural beverages, and tea is a perfect obsession for anyone interested in artisan food and healthy eating"
Salt, sugar, fat : how the food giants hooked us by Michael Moss
Call Number: 613.2 MOS
ISBN: 9780753541470
Publication Date: 2014
"Reveals how the world's largest processed food companies redirect concerns about the health risks of their products by dialing back on one harmful ingredient while increasing another; use technology to calculate the bliss point of sugary beverages or enhance the mouth feel of fat by manipulating the chemical structure; and refer to their most ardent customers as addicted to salt, sugar, and fat."
Sugar Changed the World by Marc Aronson; Marina Tamar Budhos
Call Number: 641.3 ARO
ISBN: 0618574921
Publication Date: 2010
Songs, oral histories, maps, and more than eighty archival illustrations help trace the history of sugar and the sugar trade.
The Omnivore's Dilemma by Michael Pollan
Call Number: 641.3 POL
ISBN: 1594200823
Publication Date: 2006
Offers insight into food consumption in the twenty-first century, explaining how an abundance of unlimited food varieties reveals the responsibilities of consumers to protect their health and the environment.
material type: Book
Book
Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer
Call Number: 641.3 FOE
ISBN: 0316069906
Publication Date: 2009-11-02
Examines various philosophical topics related to vegetarianism and eating habits in general, chronicling the author's struggle, as he approaches fatherhood, with how to make dietary choices on a child's behalf, and analyzes various aspects of folklore, culture, tradition, and myth that help people justify eating habits.
Dangerous Tastes by Andrew Dalby
Call Number: 641.3 DAL
ISBN: 0520227891
Publication Date: 2000-11-21
Studies the role spices have played in different cultures throughout history.

Noodletools

NoodleTools
Sign in with your school Google account.

Mentor Texts

The 10 food stories you must read
These stories are all from India
New York Times Food
The New York Times has a really interesting food section.
Longreads Best of 2019: Food Writing
We asked writers and editors to choose some of their favorite stories of the year in various categories. Here is the best in food writing.
20 Food Journalists to Celebrate on World Press Freedom Day
Read about food journalists, and then do a Google search to find examples of their work.
Tostada Magazine
"A Detroit-based independent digital Media company that was founded on the premise that food journalism has the power to unify communities & preserve culture."
Locally foraged piñon nuts are cherished in New Mexico. They’re also disappearing.
Eater
"Eater is a food and dining network of sites."
Thrill Ride
"Meet the intrepid cyclists powering New York City's food-delivery obsession"
TASTE
"At TASTE, the glue that binds everything we do together is our curiosity, and our quest to understand the foods we eat, how we eat them, and why."
MUNCHIES: Food by Vice
FOOD52
"We wanted to create a buzzing place for others who do what we do all day long: talk about food!"
Tom Philpott
"Philpott writes features, op-eds, and maintains the Food for Thought blog at Mother Jones, as well as speaking and publishing widely on the politics and economics of food and agriculture. "

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian

lhoiseth@aes.ac.in

+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/aesmshslibrary/

English 11/12 - Themes and Topics: Home