Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OWL Purdue useful links
Creating good Interview and Survey questions
If you are conducting primary research using surveys or interviews, one of the most important things to focus on is creating good questions.
Interviewing is a great way to learn detailed information from a single individual or small number of individuals. It is very useful when you want to gain expert opinions on the subject or talk to someone knowledgeable about a topic.
Google Search Tip
To search websites that originate in India:
Indian Newspaper Sites
These are links to the online versions of some popular newspapers in India. Use the search engines within each site.
Recommended Databases for this assignment
AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.
You can always use any of the AES databases available from the link above. These might be the most useful for this assignment:
Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
Use World Edition and choose the India section. Select topics from the panel on the left. The statistics section - which ranks India against other countries of the world on various measures - could be very helpful.
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Use Newsbank to find newspaper articles of interest. You can limit by date and location if that's helpful.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the largest, most comprehensive of the AES databases. You should be able to find popular and scholarly sources on any of your topics.
IndiaStat This link opens in a new window
Provides socio-economic statistical information about India, its states, regions and sectors. Indiastat.com is a cluster of 56 associate websites wherein 19 websites are sector-specific, 6 are regional websites and 31 state-specific. Only one person at a time can access this database; find the name of the table you are looking for and then ask the library staff to access it for you.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is the most academic of the databases available at AES.
How to Cite in NoodleTools
Developing a Research Question
Build a research question
Search the MS/HS Library Catalog
Look for books with call numbers that begin with INDIA followed by numbers. Come to the Tagore Room in the library to find the books you need.
MLA Citation Style
OWL Purdue for MLA Format and Style
The overview should help you better understand how to cite sources using MLA 9th edition, including how to format the Works Cited page and in-text citations.
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
Sr. Library Tech. Officer
Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian
+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358