Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Extended Essay: EE Home

IB Extended Essay Website

Broad general reading to generate ideas

Websites to stretch your brain.  Browse, read, and let your mind wander.

----------------------------------------------

Of course you can use Google, Google Scholar and Google Books, but try these search engines as well.

Thanks to Katie Day at the United World College of South East Asia for generating much of this list.

Recommended Databases for the EE

If accessing databases from home, use the link to find the passwords.

All EE students should use EBSCO and JSTOR. Also, check the list for subject-specific databases.

Open Access Economics Databases

Sources for data on countries and regions

EE Course

This free course helps you learn how to manage your EE.

Online Writing Lab - Purdue

IB Core Library Lessons - Lesson 1

Lesson 1

What do others have to say about the EE?

  • Bookmark this guide!

IB Core Library Lessons - Lesson 2

Lesson 2

IB Core Library Lessons - Lesson 3

Lesson 3

Understanding plagiarism

EE Y2 Seminar

Notecard Template

Effective Notetaking

No matter what note-taking technique you use, these are important guidelines to follow:

  • Develop, modify, then stick to a strategy that works for you.
  • Read for understanding.
  • Paraphrase! (That's how you know you understand.)
  • Be able to trace every single idea in your notes to its source.
  • Write just enough - not so much that it's like reading the original all over again, not so little that you don't know what it means later.
  • Abbreviations, symbols, and diagrams are great, as long as you'll remember what they mean.

Noodletools

Turnitin

Open Access Databases - General

These databases provide free full text access to many scholarly sources.

Open Access Databases - Sciences

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian

lhoiseth@aes.ac.in

+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358

Twitter: @lhoiseth