Skip to Main Content

Mental Health Novel Study Unit: Home

Assignment

Assignment information

Identify a mental illness or behavioral disorder that you are interested to learn more about. Options include:

Bulimia nervosa
Anorexia nervosa
Compulsive eating disorder
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
Autism spectrum disorder (which includes Asperger’s)
Tourette’s Syndrome

Anxiety Disorders such as

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Social Anxiety Disorder
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Depression
- Self-injury (self-mutilation)
Bipolar disorder (manic depressive disorder)

Delusional Disorder

Schizophrenia

Recommended Websites

Some of these links take you to a mental health landing page where you'll find a list of illnessses or disorders. For the rest, you'll need to use the search box within the website.

Media

Novelist John Green discusses his own experiences with mental illness.

Recommended Databases for Health

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia is always a great place to begin almost any research project.
Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database is perfect for this assignment.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
SIRS Discoverer is a general database that lets you sort by type of source as well as reading level.

Destiny Library Catalog

Click here to visit Destiny Homepage

Noodletools

NoodleTools
Sign in with your school Google account.

Books

Destiny Visual Search

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian

lhoiseth@aes.ac.in

+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/aesmshslibrary/