LibGuides: Humanites Grade 7: Biography of a Resistance Leader

Project information

Biography of a Resistance Leader assignment

As you research your resistance leader, consider the following:

Family life
Formative experiences
Geography/context
How they challenged the status quo
Beliefs/values

Useful websites

Ducksters: Biography
Scan their list to see if your person is included.
Biography.com
Has a searchable online database containing 15,000 international names, past and present. This is a commercial site for the Biography television show.
Academy of Achievement
In the Gallery of Achievers, the focus is on individuals who have shaped the 20th century by their accomplishments.
Women's History Month (Library of Congress)
Learn about the generations of women who have made an impact in history.
Presidents of the United States of America
This site from the White House has a list of internal links to each president of the United States. Includes photographs and links to other Web resources.

Recommended databases for biographies

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

The complete list of databases and their passwords is above, but these are the databases that will probably be the most helpful as you research your resistance leader.

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Choose the Elementary or Middle levels.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
This will find magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, and more! You can limit your search my lexile range if that is helpful.
Brain POP This link opens in a new window
You might be able to find a video about the person you are researching, or you might scan the list of 88 available biographies to get ideas about people to research.
Newsela This link opens in a new window
Use your AES email address to log in and find news articles about your resistance leader.

Books in our Library

The library has lots of books that might be helpful for your research or as examples of narrative writing, including these:

Brother Eagle, Sister Sky by Susan Jeffers; Chief Seattle
Call Number: E 304.2 SEA
ISBN: 0803709692
A Suquamish Indian chief describes his people's respect and love for the earth, and concern for its destruction.
Lives of the Musicians by Kathleen Krull; Kathryn Hewitt (Illustrator)
Call Number: 780.92 KRU
ISBN: 0152480102
The lives of twenty composers and musicians, ranging from Vivaldi, Mozart, and Bach to Gershwin, Gilbert & Sullivan, and Woody Guthrie, are profiled in this eclectic, humorous, and informative collection.
Seven Brave Women by Betsy Hearne; Bethanne Andersen (Illustrator)
Call Number: READ E HEA
ISBN: 0060799218
A young girl recounts the brave exploits of her female ancestors, including her great-great-great grandmother who came to America in a wooden sailboat.
Alvin Ailey by Andrea Davis Pinkney; Brian Pinkney (Illustrator)
Call Number: READ B AILEY
ISBN: 9780786810772
Describes the life, dancing, and choreography of Alvin Ailey, who created his own modern dance company to explore the black experience.