LibGuides: World History 9: Ancient River Civilizations

Assignment Information

Ancient China (up to 600 BC: Xia, Shang and Zhou)
Ancient India, Harappan (Indus River Valley Civ 3300-1600 BC)
Mesopotamia (Ur III Empire (2112–2004 BC)
Egypt (Old Kingdom 2686–2134 BC)

Recommended Databases for Ancient History

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia is usually the best place to start your research.
For Noodletools - Where is it? A database. What is it? A reference source.
Ancient & Medieval History This link opens in a new window
This database has information on all of the civilizations you are studying.
For Noodletools - Where is it? A database. What is it? Look in your results list - it will tell you what it is.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
You should be able to find all of the information you need from the other two databases, but in case you can't, you might try this as well.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
SiIRS is a general database that lets you narrow your search by reading level.
Newsela This link opens in a new window
Log in with your AES gmail address. You can adjust articles according to lexile (reading level).

Recommended Websites

Your quickest sources of information will be the databases recommended here and the books in the library. If you need more, you might try these websites:

The Ancient Web
This is a commercial site that is well-researched and well-cited.
Life in Mesopotamia
This site is sponsored by the University of Chicago.
Mesopotamia
This site is sponsored by the British Museum.
Ancient Egypt
This site is sponsored by the British Museum.
Ancient India
This site is sponsored by the British Museum.
Shang/Zhou dynasty ca. 1600–256 B.C.
This site is sponsored by the Princeton University Art Museum.