Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Day 1
Spend 20 minutes watching some of these videos or reading the articles. This is a menu of resources that you can choose from; you don't need to watch everything.
KHAN ACADEMY: 9 Video Clips ranging from 5-12 mins in length covering the following areas of World War II:
Books in our library
World War II - Lightbox Ebook
An introduction to World War II, covering leaders, soldiers, battles, and more. Includes audio, videos, activities, weblinks, slideshows, transparencies, maps, quizzes, and supplementary resources.
Research Day 2
Spend 20 minutes doing background reading from one of these databases. The login and password are in Google Classroom.
Spend another 20 minutes looking for books and doing some background reading from one of these sites. These collections are made available for free through the end of the school year.)
The login and password for this ebook platform are in Google Classroom.
You shouldn't need a password, but if you do try this:
Lightbox by Follett Destiny
1. In the location box it says "any location." Do not change this.
2. In the school box, enter "Follet E-Learning, McHenry, IL and click Go.
3. Click Login
4. Username: guest
National Emergency Library
You can borrow books after creating a free account.
Spend 20 minutes watching videos from this site to give you background information. The login and password are in Google Classroom.
Research Day 3
To what extent did the dropping of the Atomic bomb impact international relations in the period after WWII?
Recommended databases for history
AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.
This list of history databases is ranked from basic to more complex. It's a good idea to start at the top of the list and work your way down as necessary.
This is a great place to start to get background information on the war in general and your topic in particular.
Modern World History Online
This database will provide excellent primary and secondary sources for your research.
NewsBank - Access World News
Use the Custom Dates function to find primary-source news articles about the war and your topic. You can also narrow by source type and location.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete
This is our largest general database. Once you do a keyword search and find a good article, use EBSCO's subject terms to find similar articles.
This is the most scholarly database provided by AES. Use this when you are looking for some sophisticated information that you haven't been able to find elsewhere.
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian
+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358