Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Unit Focus: 1750-1900
Students will understand that:
- both individuals and conditions play a role in revolutions.
- societies are in constant flux.
- while there are similar characteristics, no two revolutions are the same.
- nationalism impacts identity.
- revolutions have far reaching impacts.
- new political institutions are created that replace empires over time.
- To what extent are revolutions circumstantial?
- What causes societies to change over time?
- What are the characteristics of revolutions?
- How is one’s sense of identity impacted by political, economic, and social factors?
- How do revolutions change societies?
Recommended databases for studying nationalism, revolution, and reform
AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.
This list of history databases is ranked from basic to more complex. It's a good idea to start at the top of the list and work your way down as necessary.
The most comprehensive K-12 Reference Source.
CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
NewsBank - Access World News
Access world News - Historical and Current.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete
World's largest' scholarly, multidiscipline full text database designed specifically for academic institutions.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian
+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358