LibGuides: US and Modern World History 10: US History to 1920

Assignment Handouts

Choosing a topic

Recommended databases for studying US history

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

This list of history databases is ranked from basic to more complex. It's a good idea to start at the top of the list and work your way down as necessary.

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive K-12 Reference Source.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search historical newspapers for primary sources.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
World's largest' scholarly, multidiscipline full text database designed specifically for academic institutions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a comprehensive database with articles, books, research reports, and reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Directly exports citation to NoodleTools.

Books in our library

The library has a number of books and reference books to help with your research, including these:

Encyclopedia of American History by Gary B. Nash (Editor)
Call Number: REF 973 ENC
ISBN: 081604371X
Handbook of American Women's History by Angela Howard (Editor); Frances M. Kavenik (Editor)
Call Number: REF 305.4 HAN
ISBN: 0761916350
Publication Date: 2000

Destiny Library Catalog

Click here to visit Destiny Homepage

Primary Source Documents - Websites

Library of Congress
"Today's Library of Congress is an unparalleled world resource. The collection of more than 160 million items includes more than 37.8 million cataloged books and other print materials in 470 languages; more than 69.6 million manuscripts; the largest rare book collection in North America; and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings."
Docs Teach
"We have selected thousands of primary source documents to bring the past to life as classroom teaching tools from the billions preserved at the National Archives. Use the search field above to find written documents, images, maps, charts, graphs, audio and video in our ever-expanding collection that spans the course of American history."
National Archives
100 Milestone Documents
"The following is a list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
Yale Law School -Avalon Project - Major Document Collections
"The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government."
Smithsonian Source
"This website reflects the work of several groups of teachers who conducted research at the Smithsonian and other national historical organizations. For this reason, some of the primary sources included in Smithsonian Source are not from the Smithsonian collections."
Digital Public Library of America
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Exhibitions are designed to tell stories of national significance using source materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, including letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.

Useful Websites

Historical Documents
This site from the US Department of State "presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity."
US Foreign Policy
This site from the journal Foreign Affairs lists foreign policy topics related to each US president's administration since FDR.
History by Topic
Published by History.com of the A+E Networks

Library Lessons

Noodletools

NoodleTools
Sign in with your school Google account.

Notecard Template

Notecards (US letter)
This version is in Googledocs. Please make a copy of it to use it.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian

lhoiseth@aes.ac.in

+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/aesmshslibrary/