Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Imperialism Assignment Information
Major colonizing powers:
- What areas of the world were colonized by this power? What resources/ geography were involved?
- What was the colonial experience of the indigenous people whose lands were colonized?
- How was the colonial power affected by the colonial experience?
- What vestiges of colonization are still present/visible in today’s society?
Books in our library
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Call Number: REF 325.3 ENC
Publication Date: 2007
Contains over four hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information on various aspects of colonialism and expansion around the world since the mid-fifteenth century.
Recommended databases for studying imperialism
AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.
This list of history databases is ranked from basic to more complex. It's a good idea to start at the top of the list and work your way down as necessary.
It's always a good idea to start with a general encyclopedia to get background knowledge first. Choose the high school version first. (You can switch levels within the article if that's helpful.)
Modern World History Online
This database will have reference articles, book chapters, journal articles, etc.
NewsBank - Access World News
Search historical newspapers for primary sources.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete
World's largest' scholarly, multidiscipline full text database designed specifically for academic institutions.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.
Note-taking and citations
Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
Linda Hoiseth, MS/HS Librarian
+91 11 2688 8854 Ext: 3358