LibGuides: US and Modern World History 10: Nationalism, Revolution, and Reform

Unit Focus: 1750-1900

Students will understand that:

both individuals and conditions play a role in revolutions.
societies are in constant flux.
while there are similar characteristics, no two revolutions are the same.
nationalism impacts identity.
revolutions have far reaching impacts.
new political institutions are created that replace empires over time.

Essential questions

To what extent are revolutions circumstantial?
What causes societies to change over time?
What are the characteristics of revolutions?
How is one’s sense of identity impacted by political, economic, and social factors?
How do revolutions change societies?

January 6, 2021

Resources for Talking To Students About the Attack on the Capitol
From We Are Teachers
Teaching Resources to Help Students Make Sense of the Rampage at the Capitol
From the New York Times
How to Teach the U.S. Capitol Attack: Dozens of Resources to Get You Started
From Education Week

Destiny Library Catalog

Click here to visit Destiny Homepage

Recommended databases for studying nationalism, revolution, and reform

AES database list (with passwords)
This is the complete list of databases available through the AES library. You can access this document if you are signed in to your AES account.

This list of history databases is ranked from basic to more complex. It's a good idea to start at the top of the list and work your way down as necessary.

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive K-12 Reference Source.
Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
NewsBank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access world News - Historical and Current.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
World's largest' scholarly, multidiscipline full text database designed specifically for academic institutions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a comprehensive database with articles, books, research reports, and reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Directly exports citation to NoodleTools.